British Holiday Information

Three new cities to mark Queen’s Diamond Jubilee

Three towns – one in England, one in Wales and one in Scotland – are celebrating after being awarded city status to mark the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee.

In total, 25 towns across the UK were entered into the competition to receive city status, with just one town being expected to receive the honor, however, in a surprise result, Chelmsford in Essex, Perth in Perthshire and St Asaph in Denbighshire were all confirmed as winners today.